top of page

Sahasrara Chakra

Sahasrara - Crown.png


Sahasrara chakra or crown chakra is the seventh chakra. It sits at the top of the chakra system connecting us to universal consciousness and ultimate truth. In yogic philosophy, the chakras are subtle bodies, or energy centers, that ascend the spine. 

When Ajna chakra is balanced, we feel stable, clear, and connected to intuition and source. We see things as they are rather than as we think we see them. In yoga philosophy, we call this energetic state of being sattvic. In this state, we can confidently practice discernment, trusting our inner wisdom to inform and guide us.

The crown chakra is best explored through subtle practices, like those found in studying the schools of Laya, Jnana, or Bhakti Yoga. Yoga therapists use Yoga as an integrative system to help clients acknowledge wholeness, and may do so by developing awareness around the crown chakra through breathwork or meditation. If you’re interested in studying the different schools of Tantra or Yoga as an integrative system in clinical application, you should consider education in Tantra Yoga or a career in Yoga Therapy. 


The crown chakra extends from the length of the spine and blossoms over the soft spot we’re born with at the crown of the head. It exists beyond the physical plane connecting us with Pure Awareness and universal consciousness. In our lineage, it is the place where spiritual evolution and growth take place. Sahasrara chakra can be represented as violet or clear white light. 


The Sahasrara is described as a lotus flower with 1,000 petals of different colors. These are arranged in 20 layers, each with approximately 50 petals. The pericarp is golden and within it a circular moon region is inscribed with a luminous triangle, which can be either upward- or downward-pointing.

Often referred to as a thousand-petaled lotus, it is said to be the most subtle chakra in the system, relating to pure consciousness, and it is from this chakra that all the other chakras emanate. When a yogi is able to raise their kundalini (energy of consciousness) up to this point, the state of Nirvikalpa Samādhi is experienced.

Asana Associated with Sahasrara Chakra

The seventh Sahasrara Chakra guides our mental and spiritual intellect. The energy of the Crown Chakra is supplied by the other six chakras. This is the reason it is important to work on the lower six chakras to effectively activate the Crown Chakra.


Awareness of the crown chakra is all about developing a subtle awareness of being, so comfortable poses are best. You could try coming into Sukhasana, easy seat, with the inner Drishti, focused on Ajna chakra, at the middle of the forehead, at the space between the brow as a pratyahara practice to help shift awareness to the crown chakra by entering into a state of meditation. Once you settle in, let go of awareness and allow yourself to be in order to see.

In yoga asana, poses like tadasana, viprita karni mudra, forward fold, wide-legged forward fold, child’s pose with reverse namaskar (prayer hands with elbows on the earth and thumbs resting at the back of the neck), savasana, and inversions are all good for bringing awareness to this space. Integrative practices, like yoga nidra, can help bring awareness to this space, as well.

Pranayama Associated With Sahasrara Chakra

Anulom vilom pranayama (alternate nostril breathing), bhastrika pranayama, Kapalbhati, & ujjayi pranayama can awaken the Crown chakra. Crown chakra is the point where the Nadis – Ida, Pingala, and Sushumna meet. These pranayamas balance the flow in all the nadis and activates Crown Chakra.

Mudra Associated With Sahasrara Chakra


A mudra is a sign or hand gesture that has been known to affect different parts of the body by engaging the nerve endings in our fingertips. Mudras direct energy flow from the fingers to the brain and help the body communicate with itself. Mudras are a powerful way to activate our chakras.

.The Lotus Mudra is a symbol of purity. This pose symbolizes a beautiful bud yearning toward the light, growing out of the deep dark muck of the pond water. From there, a flower emerges – making it a symbol of light and beauty emerging from darkness.

Begin with the hands at Anjali Mudra (prayer pose), keep the thumbs and pinky fingers and the bottoms of each palm touching and flower open the rest of the fingers.

lotus mudra 1.jpg

Beej Mantra & Association with Deity


The seed syllable of Sahasrara Chakra is AUM, which is believed to be the basic sound of the world and contains all other sounds. It helps to cultivate a connection with the spirit and the whole universe or higher power. It is considered the supreme sound of the universe. The Bīja mantras are monosyllabic seed sounds that, when they have spoken aloud, activate the energy of the chakras in order to purify and balance the mind and body. The energy resonates in the chakra associated with the mantra, helping the speaker become aware of their body's needs.

Color Associated With Sahasrara Chakra


Violet or white is the color of the Crown Chakra. Violet is the color of spirituality. It is a unifying color that contains all the qualities of other chakras when completely activated. It brings a strong emotion of letting go and also the joy of transformation. There is a realization of a profound change. The spirit of violet allows the self to look beyond the merely physical and material values of existence.

Food Associated With Sahasrara Chakra


The Crown Chakra foods are natural, wholesome foods that promote general well-being. Foods that are fresh and organic, vegetables, fruits, brown rice, brown bread, and hearty broths help to bring energy centers into alignment. Violet foods like eggplant and red grapes are great as they are the colors of the Crown Chakra. Ginger spice has cleansing benefits and promotes spiritual clarity. Herbal teas reduce blockages by promoting health in your digestive system.

Affirmation Associated With Sahasrara Chakra


Affirmations are positive statements that confirm something to be true. Affirmations are a helpful tool for improving self-esteem and embodying certain qualities we endeavor to possess. Affirmations can be added to any yoga routine or used as an accessible part of many self-care rituals. You can introduce affirmations first thing in the morning, before practice, or anytime throughout the day as a way to connect and reground. Affirmations for the crown eye chakra include:

  • I honor the divine in me.

  • I am open to new ideas

  • Information I need comes to me easily.

  • This world is my teacher.

  • I am guided by the higher power and inner wisdom.

  • I am worthy of love, from divine energy.

  • I am open to letting go of my attachments.

  • I live in the present moment.

  • I am an extension of this universe, and universe is kind and loving.

  • I am connected with the wisdom of the universe.

bottom of page